#### April 4, 2025 Commission Minutes

Prior to the regularly scheduled May 2, 2025 Commission meeting, when the April 2025 minutes would have normally been approved, the Commission was abolished pursuant to the passing of S2, which was signed by the Governor on April 28, 2025. No Commission meeting was conducted whereby the April 4, 2025 minutes would have been approved, therefore, the minutes remain marked as draft.

Kim Ballentine
Recording Secretary
Executive Assistant to the State Director
S.C. Department of Mental Health
2414 Bull Street
Columbia, SC 29201
803-898-8319
kim.ballentine@scdmh.org
www.scdmh.net



## SOUTH CAROLINA MENTAL HEALTH COMMISSION Morris Village Alcohol & Drug Addiction Treatment Center 610 Faison Drive, Columbia, South Carolina 29203

## **April 4, 2025**

## William S. Hall Psychiatric Institute

### **ATTENDANCE**

### **Commission Members:**

Dr. Elliott Levy, Chair, Dr. Carl Jones, and Mr. Bobby Mann were present, in person. Dr. Crystal Maxwell was present virtually via Zoom.

### Staff/Visitors:

		A CONTRACTOR OF THE PARTY OF TH	Z. K. S. S. S. S.
Dr. Robert Bank	<u>Present virtually via Zoom</u>	Present victually via Zoom	Present virtually via Zoom
Deborah Blalock	Lee Bodie	Charice Jones	Vicki Redding
Pat Bresnan	Aria Bozorgi	Erin Laughter	Rochelle Reeder
Debbie Calcote	Dr. Robert Breen	Sarah Main	Niosha Robinson
Dr. Chad Pollock	Dr. Jennifer Cobb-Hayes	Kathleen Martin	Robyn Rubio
Logan Royals	Starla Fowler	Linda Palmer	Angie Salley
Brett Williams	Dr. Kelly Gothard	Tacey Perillo	Kellie Silveira
	Jeffery Ham	Valarie Perkins	Bridget Stewart
	Dr. Patricia Handley	Sylvett Porter	Eric Turner
	Joy Hodge	Jay Ragin	Lindsay Walker
	Alan Hovorka	Dr. Lynelle Reavis	Gwen Watson
	Kathy Hugg		

A meeting of the S.C. Mental Health Commission was held in Room 320 at the S.C. Department of Mental Health Administration Building on Friday, April 4, 2025 at 9:30 a.m. Chairman Levy welcomed everyone to the meeting and turned the meeting over to Dr. Maryjane Hicks, Director, William S. Hall Psychiatric Institute (Hall Institute). Members of the Hall Institute Leadership Team include: Dr. Jennifer Alleyne, Interim Medical Chief; Dr. Kimberly Rudd, Medical Chief, G. Werber Bryan Psychiatric Hospital; Kathy Bryant, LMSW, Clinical Services Director; and Dr. Aldevone Ardoin, Director of Nursing,

# <u>PRESENTATION</u>

Dr. Hicks welcomed everyone. She and her team gave a presentation on Hall Institute, a copy of which is filed with the minutes in the Office of the State Director. Following are highlights from the presentation.

- Mission "The mission of Hall Institute is to provide effective and efficient treatment of the biological, psychological and social or "biopsychosocial" factors through comprehensive assessments utilizing evidenced-based interventions to the children and adolescents of South Carolina. Our staff respects the rights and dignity of our patients and promotes a return to family and community in a health way."
- Vision "We believe that all children and adolescents need specialized treatment services with caring, dedicated and committed individuals assisting them to focus on learning meaningful and important skills to enhance their daily lives."
- Values "Respect, Dignity, Teamwork, Passion, Collaboration, Communication, Dedication, Honesty, Service."

- Hall Institute has 51 bed capacity for the treatment of children and adolescents across the state of South Carolina.
- Dr. Hicks noted an additional agency to the list of Interagency Collaboration: The South Carolina Department of Children's Advocacy.
- Treatment challenges: facility limitations, adequate staffing, appropriate programming, and there are few residential treatment facilities.
- Counties with the greatest referrals: Spartanburg, Greenville, York, and Horry.
- Services are provided by psychiatrists, social workers, nurses, counselors, psychologists, chaplain, and activity therapists. School services are provided by Richland School District 1 onsite.
- A brass plaque of William S. Hall, MD, State Commissioner of Mental Health 1963-1985, is on display at the facility in the admissions lobby.

Chairman Levy asked Dr. Hicks to describe what a period of school looks like for the patients. Dr. Hicks explained that the patients attend school from 8 a.m. – 12 noon. The patients are separated based on high school, middle school, and elementary school. Many of the patients have an IEP (Individualized Education Program). Teachers are all certified in different areas, and most of the teachers have a special education (SpEd teacher) background. The nursing staff and the BHAs (behavioral health administrators) are present in school with the patients each day.

On behalf of the Commission, Chairman Levy thanked Dr. Hicks and her staff for their continued services and for the very informative presentation. The center presentation concluded at 10:00 a.m.

Dr. Elliott Levy, Chair SC Mental Health Commission

Kim Ballentine, Recording Secretary

SC Mental Health Commission